The club holds a number of races throughout the year ranging from Flat Time Trials, Hill Climbs and even Downhill competitions for the best at carrying their speed!

There is a steep history behind many of the trophies with what we believe to be the oldest time trial in the country with the J.N. White Handicap Trophy.

Here are the results of the events this year.

50 Mile Open TT

Inter Club 10 Mile Time Trial – April 2023

Score Draw. We decided against a penalty shoot-out!

Fifteen riders faced the timekeeper on a cold, hard morning at Siddington. This year all three clubs WW, Stretford and the Ducks fielded teams and the competition was fierce. Six Withy Wheelers rode with their eyes on the Bryan Purcell handicap trophy.

The full result is shown below but the fastest rider on the day was Pete Howarth recording 23.27 (SW), second was John Lowe (WW) and third Liam Kwan (SW).

The winner of the Bryan Purcell handicap trophy was John Lowe off scratch, from Rob Kirk and Simon Tiller. The first five Withies were within a minute on handicap times – well done to the handicapper.

The result of the Inter Club has never been so close, so close in fact that the result was a draw, both WW and SW recording the same team times of 1:18:22.

After discussions about who would take care of the cup, it was suggested (by WW) that the holders of the trophy (WW) should keep it another year. After all we were the holders and we hadn’t been beaten.

Thanks were expressed to Russ for organising the event, the helpers and marshals and Valerie and team Tiller for providing the home made cakes, which were greatly appreciated by all.

– Inter Club result –

  • 23.27 Pete Howarth SWCC
  • 24.43 John Lowe WW (Scr) 24.43 >> Winner; Bryan Purcell Cup
  • 26.15 Liam Kwan SWCC
  • 26.34 Phil Wilkins WW (1.00) 25.34
  • 27.05 Rob Kirk WW (2.00) 25.05 >> Second
  • 27.27 Mike Irvine WW (1.40) 25.47
  • 28.10 Ashley Cooney DCC
  • 28.40 Graeme McCulloch SWCC
  • 29.57 Karen Newby DCC
  • 30.05 Ann Twigg SWCC
  • 30.05 Julian Gilborn SWCC
  • 31.22 Simon Tiller WW (6.00) 25.22 >> Third
  • 32.16 Howard Newhall WW (6.00) 26.16
  • 33.16 David Bamford DCC
  • 34.52 Emidio Santos DCC

– Inter Club teams –

Withington Wheelers

  • John Lowe 24.43
  • Phil Wilkins 26.34
  • Rob Kirk 27.05
  • Total time 1:18:22

Stretford Wheelers

  • Pete Howarth 23.27
  • Liam Kwan 26.15
  • Graeme McCulloch 28.40
  • Total time 1:18:22

Dukinfield CC

  • A Cooney 28.10
  • K Newby 29.57
  • D Bamford 33.16
  • Total time 1:30:23

10 Mile Time Trial – 24 July 2023 @ Tameside Circuit

Ash 27.19 (PB), Ross 28.29, James 28.45 (1st TT), Steve 28.56, Terry 29.08, David B 31.20

Hill Climb – Oct 2023 @ Long Hill TBC

Downhill – Oct 2023 @ The Barrel Inn, Bretton TBC